Pop Punk Uprising: Meet Scotland’s All So Simple Band @AllSoSimpleBand

All So Simple2

There’s a new sound coming out of Inverness, Scotland … it’s loud, brash, pop punk and it’s fun — that’s what All So Simple brings to the indie music scene.

The band, features Alasdair Mackintosh on vocals and guitar; Dylan Mullen on lead guitar; Johnny Fowler on bass; and Conor Hedges on drums. They’ve been together for just over a year and released their debut 4-track EP “Blue Skies and Open C’s” on April 15.

Previously released is the lead track, “Built to Mend,” a great introduction to this talented group of young lads. It shows well-tuned musicianship and great harmonies. The accompanying tunes, “Gave it All,” “City Streets” and “December Demise” are no different. The lads have put a lot of effort into crafting a strong debut.

Being relatively unknown, this is the perfect time to introduce the lads.

So what happens when you turn a young band loose with a bunch of fun questions? Find out below:

Name?Aly
Aly

Age and birthday?
I’m 22, the oldest in the band. I was born on Nov. 2, 1993.

What instrument do you play?
I am the singer and rhythm guitarist.

Who are your musical influences?
Blink-182, All Time Low anything considered pop-punk really.

When and how you got started in music?
I showed interest in music at a very young age, I don’t know why.

What are your aspirations?
To make a life out of music. I’m not looking for fame and glory, just enough to get by.

Do you have any talents other than musically?
It’s always been music, I’m not really good at much else.

What hobbies do you have?
Video games, I play video games for ungodly periods of time.

What do you like to do for fun?
Make music and play video games … Eat pizza?

Do you have a good nickname, and how did you get it?
Unfortunately not, I was once referred to as “Spike” when I was maybe 12 as I had ridiculously spiky hair but that’s not something I’m proud of.

Favorite foods and drink?
Pizza, it’s the pop-punk cliché. As for drinks, as long as they’re not fizzy I’m usually all for them.

Favorite actors/actresses?
Michael Cera, his awkwardness is incredibly relatable and I love actors that portray almost the same character in every film. Think of Jack Black for example.

Favorite movies and TV shows?
I don’t really watch movies, I really like “Star Wars” though. As for TV shows its gotta be “Adventure Time!”

Where do you take holidays?
I’m hitting up France this year, my older sister lives there.

Where would you like to take a holiday?
USA! USA! I’d probably have an emotional breakdown on arrival.

What’s the best thing about where you live?
I’ll do my best to stick to the pros … My family is here, my band mates are here … Um…

How’s the music scene there?
It’s more of a community. Everyone knows each other and we all have the same goal in mind, getting out of Inverness.


 

Name?

Dylan Lee Mullen

What instrument do you play?
Lead guitar.dylan

Your musical influences?
Nirvana, Bring Me The Horizon, The 1975 and Pearl Jam.

When and how you got started in music?
Asked for guitar lessons when I was 8.

Do you have any talents other than musically?
Nope.

What do you like to do for fun?
Party.

Favorite foods and drink?
Pizza and Jack Daniels.

 


 

Name?
Johnny Fowler

What instrument do you play?
Bass.

Who are your musical influences?
I have so many, probably Periphery, Comeback Kid, Neck Deep, Four Year Strong, but I like everything from Hopsin to Justice and some more stupid music.

When and how All So Simple Johnny1you got started in music?
I started playing music in first year with some friends I skated with but I couldn’t play an instrument or sing, I just really liked the idea of it. I’d say I really got into it when I was like 14 and I started a band in high school called Epic Face and we had one song and the rest was just Blink 182 covers.

What are your aspirations?

I’d love to just be able to play music for the rest of my life and maybe go around the world and see loads of cool places.

Do you have any talents other than musically?
I’ve been doing a lot of sports since I was I child so I’d say I’m pretty good at most sports that I’ve played other than that I’d say I’m pretty good at dancing since I’ve been doing gymnastics for about 12 years.

What hobbies do you have and what do you like to do for fun?
I’d say most of my hobbies I do for fun, I love to skateboard and I do a lot of sports still, but right now I’m doing a lot of MMA, so I’d say that. I also like to design logos and T-shirts as a little side job that’s fun.

Do you have a good nickname, and how did you get it?
Well, my name is kind of a nickname of Johnathan, but I used to get called Johnny-no balls when I was 7 because I used to do the splits for 20p’s in the playground, but that kind of wore off as I grew some bigger balls, haha.

Favorite foods and drink?
I love pizza, I mean who doesn’t right? Drink I would have to say Lucozade cause I’m always drinking it, that or some Kopperberg in the sun at the skate park.

Favorite actors/actresses?
It’s Gotta be Seth Rogen man, that guys is hilarious, I mean I know he plays the same guy in most films but that guys is funny as fuck so why change it right?

Favorite movies and TV shows?
Fave movie has to be “This is the End” or “Pineapple Express.” TV show is definitely “The Walking Dead!” Been addicted to that since I first saw it four years ago!

Where do you take holidays?
When my family went on holidays or I was taken on holiday, it was always to somewhere sunny with a beach, and every time all the women would just lie in the sun the whole time and I would be stuck doing fuck all. I mean, if you wanna pay $2K to lie in the sun, fucking buy a sun bed and leave me out! I mean I still had I good time.

Where would you like to take a holiday?
My idea of a good holiday would be anywhere I could adventure and explore and have fun, like go snowboarding or surfing or skydiving. Maybe somewhere like Australia or New Zealand.

What’s the best thing about where you live?
The best thing I’d say about Inverness is that it’s not as shit as some places. It’s small enough that you don’t have deal with huge crowds and lots of people in your face all the time and you can enjoy the country side if you walk for like 10 minutes in any direction, and it’s big enough that you can get all the shops and cool things that cities have.

How’s the music scene there?
The music scene isn’t that great. I mean it’s alright, but you don’t wanna get stuck here cause the biggest venue will only hold about 700 at the most and even then I doubt there’s gonna be 700 people into your music in Inverness cause everyone is quite old here, but that’s cool I guess, haha.


 

Name?
Conor

Age and birthday?
I’m 18 years old and I was born on the 3rd of July.All So Simple Conor2

What instrument you play?
I play the drums.

Your musical influences?
A lot of pop-punk mostly, like Neck Deep and Blink-182.

When and how you got started in music?
I was always really interested in music for as long I can remember, I used to watch bands on TV and I just knew that I wanted to do that for my life.

What are your aspirations?
I hope to live the rest of my life as a musician.

Do you have any talents other than musically?
I can lick my elbow? That’s probably the best I’ve got.

What hobbies do you have?
I play guitar on my down time of playing drums … I just can’t stop playing music.

What do you like to do for fun?
Mostly hang out with my girlfriend and the band.

Do you have a good nickname, and how did you get it?
I always wanted one but it just never happened.

Favorite foods and drink?
I’m a real big tea and coffee guy. I’m quite simplistic with my food. I like hot dogs and burgers, stuff like that.

Favorite actors/actresses?
For comedy I’ll go for Will Ferrell or Steve Carrell, but you can’t beat some Leonardo Di Caprio.

Favorite movies and TV shows?
I love horror movies. I watch a lot of “The Walking Dead” too.

Where do you take holidays?
I haven’t been on a holiday in years! My last holiday I was 14 and that was to Turkey.

Where would you like to take a holiday?
I would love to go America someday. Just go everywhere in America.

What’s the best thing about where you live?
There’s really not much to do here … I pass my time with music.

How’s the music scene there?
Sadly, there’s not enough pop punk, but the music community is quite lively sometimes.

ASSgroup

Order the new EP at https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/blue-skies-open-cs-ep/id1097534426 .

Find All So Simple on Twitter at @AllSoSimpleBand , on Facebook, on SoundCloud at https://soundcloud.com/all-so-simple , on YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9Bow7Z-je9-X2CvCnAWkwA , on Pintrest at https://www.pinterest.com/rebeccasinger/all-so-simple-band/, on Instagram as AllSoSimpleBand and on Vine at https://vine.co/u/1260771697129406464 .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pop Punk Uprising: Meet Scotland’s All So Simple Band @AllSoSimpleBand

  1. A lot of fun from this band too. It can be feckin’ freezing on a mid-summer’s day up in Inverness, I know, so dancing a pogo to a belter of a song these fellas would keep a body warm. Scouse-Best-Wishes to youz lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

